All drivers in Michigan — a no-fault state — must carefully choose the right collision coverage, since, regardless of fault, the state’s no-fault designation requires you to carry coverage for your own vehicle.
Nevertheless, Michigan’s No-Fault Law does offer a couple of exceptions. For instance, if your vehicle is parked and another car hits you and admits fault, you can file a claim against them. The other exception is called Michigan Mini-Tort, which occurs when the other party is more than 51% at-fault, allowing you to file a claim against them for up to $1,000.00.
Because Broad Form Collisional lows for hassle-free claims and does not have any out-of-pocket expenses if you are not at fault, it is generally the best option. Individuals with a poor driving record can save substantially with a Standard Form Collision policy; if not at fault you can mini-tort the other party to recover their deductible. This assumes that you know the other party involved, since you cannot mini-tort anyone if you do not know who hit you.
Limited Form Collision works best if you own a vehicle worth less than $3,000, as anything more would be costly to you in an at-fault accident.
Talk to your agent to find out what form of collision coverage is best for you. For any questions, comments or concerns, please contact me or call me directly at 616-723-8025.
The information provided here relates to general situations and questions concerning specific risks and may not apply to all situations or individual circumstances. Grand Rapids Insurance does not issue insurance contracts or bind coverage. We do not endorse or recommend any companies or insurance policies, and we do not provide insurance, tax or financial advice.
For more information about Michigan collision coverage, click here.